What are some of the biggest, positive changes you've seen in assessment since you were a student? How have you made them a part of your classroom? Have you added your own twists?

Yesterday, we had a great #formativechat where we invited educators to share their experiences with assessment (as students) and their ideas for innovating it (as educators). We’d love to continue the conversation here! Q1 is below :slight_smile: We’d love to hear your thoughts!

58%20PM

@informed_members @Certified_Educators

Shout-out to our guest host, Rodney Turner!

Some of the more significant changes that I have seen since I was a student is the formatting of questions. Know students are given the opportunities to extend their learning and thinking, rather than just choosing the correct answer. I like to make sure that my assessments are also provided at different ability ranges so that all students are successful.

1 Like

It has been over 40 years since I was in high school- YIKES! Assessments have certainly changed. We have many more than we used to. It seems like we assess constantly in a formal manner and informally as well. In some ways this is good, others drain the students.

The inclusion of technology has broadened how we access and allows for more creativity in the style and type of assessment. Our questioning skills are stronger and we are focused on differentiation across the board. The rigor of many tests has increased.

I used to be the teacher that gave multiple choice tests using scantrons. I now alter the type of assessments I use from instant feedback MC from zip grade to the huge variety of ways to assess in formative :slight_smile: to using google classroom/forms and hyperdocs.

I find that I am challenging myself as well as my students. We are all learning more about technology and stretching our minds to new ways to share, learn, and present information and knowledge.

4 Likes