SCIENCE! A CER Lab

science

We started using Formative 3 years ago as out primary means of students collaboration in hands-on labs. We use the CER (Claim, Evidence, Reasoning) model, start with annotations, embed artifacts for leaning such as a nearpod, edpuzzle, pHet simulation or youtube video, then have the activities and responses the rest of the way through. Any other science T’s out there?

Ways to use GoFormative

Here is an example of one of our labs on Inertia and Forces called “The Runnaway Truck Lab”

Here is another one we APPsmashed with Annotations, Phet, Nearpod, and Flipgrid. I took off the Flipgrid since this is going to be a cloned copy, but it would go after their conclusion.

pHet Lab WAVES

Appsmashing With Formative!

Joe, it’s great to connect with you. I am a 6th grade science teacher and a long-time Formative user as well. Your “The Runnaway Truck Lab” looks awesome. I haven’t used Formative in the past for team labs but am definitely considering it. Do you have all your students in a group share a device to respond to the formative or do they each respond to the formative separately?

Also, I noticed that you included an answer key for the last question. I was curious about how you use this. I’ve avoided doing this in the past because Formative will mark the response as incorrect since student responses are not matching answer key items exactly.

Also, have you ever seen the Science Alive! wiki? It was created by two 8th science students and basically their whole class uses it as a blog for their science experiments. I was thinking it might be a nice way for students to show and discuss things that they’ve learned. The comment feature is good for that.