Rock Cycle Formative

I just created a formative to assess whether my student can tell what happens in the rock cycle. I uploaded a template to the background of a show your work question and ask students to a color-coded “x” to explain what happens at different stages (since I think I thought it would be a bit faster then having them write complete words). I’d love to hear what you guys think and any suggestions on how to make this better for my students and for me would be greatly appreciated! Here’s the link a copy of the formative: https://goformative.com/clone/YRFVWL

2 Likes

As an English teacher, I think I gather what you are trying to do here. When I have students do something like this, I normally have them explain with a brief answer below their choices for labeling it the way they did. Not only does it show me if they truly get the connection between the process, but I can see if there are any misconceptions. Also, are they going to have to use more than one colored “x” on the chart? If so, you may want to indicate that in the formative itself. Afterwards, you may be able to give the students a scenario of how they could apply this knowledge to their world. When will this information be useful and applicable for them? Hope this helps and have a great day.

4 Likes

Thanks for taking a look. I love the idea of letting students find their own way to label a process and justify it. If you have an example handy, I’d be interested in checking it out.