In class practice - world language classrooms

I have seen many great ideas for using go-formative in WL classroom for assessment - perhaps as a quiz or test. However, I’d like to use it for when we are virtual and during class for a way to ensure engagement and practice by all students and a way to share all of their answers for further discussion, etc. Maybe this is how people already use it, but I am pretty new to the scene. Thanks, in advance, for any advice or help with this.

1 Like

I teach Spanish and I had never used GoFormative until this school year. I absolutely love it! If you want to use just one Formative for all the activities for that day, it is really easy to do by adding content or a PDF into the activity and using that to create sections. For example, you could have their warm-up, then create a new section with a video or a reading. Then have a section with a speaking prompt or matching. You can also have questions where students can draw on pictures you upload. This was great when my students were learning about the body and common ailments last semester to check their comprehension.

The other thing I love is that students can add comments to their questions and you can too. This is great if a student needs clarification on something but they don’t feel confident enough to ask with the whole class listening.

5 Likes

I am so incredibly thankful for your response and ideas - I think this is exactly what I was wondering about! I’m nervous, but now that I know it can and will work, I am going to jump in and try it this way. Thank you very much for taking the time to share.

April

The best part about GoFormative is that you can make changes and it quickly syncs up on the students’ end. So if you need to change something, it is very easy to tweak assignments that are not working.

I use GoFormative for just about every aspect of class that I isn’t our regular class conversation.