GoFormative in EFL / ESL

Hi,

Is there anybody using GoFormative in English as a Foreign Language or English as a Second Language?

I am using it to create grammar drill formatives for my students, which are usually multiple choice or short answer questions. Is there anybody else using it for similar purposes? Any practises that you recommend?

6 Likes

Hey Omer! Here is a grammar drill I use for reviewing prepositions with my middle school ESL students. It’s really nothing fancy, but I do like to start my grammar drill formatives with a video to review the concept the students are working on within the formative. I learned to add directions and a word bank using text block from a colleague of mine too. Let me know what you think. :slight_smile:

Prepositions Part 1
Clone Code: AFBGAW
https://goformative.com/clone/AFBGAW

Dean

3 Likes

@DeanW Is there a part 2?

2 Likes

Hi there,

I’m an EFL teacher and I 'm planning to use Formative to asses my students learning especially in grammar. I did that with Kahoot and it was amazing. Students learn while playing. This time I will try Formative. I will share the experience with you guys.

2 Likes

I don’t teach specifically to ESL students, but I have used Formative specifically with differentiation in mind. Because of this, our head ESL teacher tries to place her students in my classes whenever possible. I break down each learning target into several mini-lessons that provide ‘steps’ to progress towards the level of mathematics they will see on my test. I use videos and the Formative whiteboards to add color to the steps in my examples prior to independent practice. This summer, I’ve been inspired to add audio links that my ESL students/low readers can cilck and listen to the directions as they follow the text. I also plan to ‘hide’ some pictures/hyperlinked text so my ESL and IEP students can have an adapted version of the assignment (with simpler directions, fewer multiple choice options, less questions, etc.)